2016 Recipients

Speakers, Hosts, and Recipients


Mishael Morgan
Born and raised in TORONTO, and now in Hollywood playing (Hilary) on the Young and The Restless.


Nikki Clarke
Founder Host Producer at Nikki Clarke Show

Red Carpet Host

Kate Todd
Hosting the IWAA 2016 red carpet and performing her hit songs such as “Hit me with you best Shot and Anywhere with you” Kate Todd.
From the onset of her recording career, Kate has been rewarded for her work and her talent. She was nominated twice for a Country Music Association of Ontario Rising Star Award, two Best Country Artist nominations from the Toronto Independent Music Awards, two MARTY Awards, as well as being awarded the Best New Album at the Radio Nation Music Awards for her 2012 debut Finding My Way. With songs that speak of hope, love, life and positivity, Kate Todd has truly found her sound. Her sweetly powerful and expressive voice, easy charm and naturally engaging showmanship proves she is a legitimately gifted performer who knows how to draw in an audience and then dazzle them in a really big way.


Almas Jiwani
 Almas Jiwani, President of UN Women Canada National Committee and CEO of Frontier Canada Inc

Guest Speaker

Arlette Davis 
Arlette Davis is a radio personality on Whistle radio. Her program highlights women in the community who lead, inspire and positively influence others.

The IWAA 2016 Recipients

Almas Jiwani
IWAA Lifetime Achiever Award

Marcia H. Brown
Changing Lives Award

Nina Hallie Dixon
Youth Leadership Award

Stella Opara
Woman of Distinction Award

Kemi Amusan
IWAA Volunteer Award

Annie Persaud
IWAA Entertainment Award

Dwania Peele
Entrepreneurship Award

Joy Foster
Art & Culture Award

Tylaine Duggan
Diversity Award

Sophia Findlay
Media Award

Yvette Thakurdial
Women In Business

Andrea Tabnor
IWAA Role Model Award

Mina Rahravan
Community Development Award


Simone Walsh
Woman of Courage Award

Jessica Oppong
Academia Award

Grace Nakajje
Humanitarian Embassador Award

Samantha Fearon 
Academia Award

Naomi Ackerman
Community Leadership Award

Salina Khan